Prime Minister's Literary Awards - Shortlist Announcement

Shortlies Logo

The 2017 shortlists have been announced!
Today the Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Minister for the Arts Mitch Fifield announced the shortlist for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.
The expert judging panels have selected 30 literary works from more than 450 entries. The shortlisted books showcase the breadth and depth of Australia’s literary talent across six categories: fiction, non-fiction, Australian history, young adult fiction, children’s fiction and poetry.
The books explore diverse themes such as challenging family relationships, loss, abandonment, courage and resilience. They delve into significant moments that have shaped our history, uncover little known facts about key Australians, highlight the restorative power of poetry and breathe life into fictional characters.
This year marks the tenth anniversary of rewarding Australian literature through the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards. We hope you enjoy these great literary works as much as this year’s judges.
See the shortlist for each category and the judges' comments here.
This year's winners will be announced in December.