2019 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards open for entries



2019 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards open for entries

Entries are now open across 6 categories until 15 March 2019, 5pm (AEST).

If you had a work published or released during 2018 you may be eligible to enter this year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.

The Awards help to support Australian authors and promote the importance of Australian literature.

Entries are sought for books of high literary merit, and in the case of the prize for Australian history, scholarly accomplishment.

The Awards are now welcoming entries from Australian authors and creators in 6 prize categories: children’s literature, young adult literature, fiction, poetry, non-fiction and Australian history.

There are no entry fees. Entries for the Australian history category can be submitted in a range of formats including print media, an interactive or online project, film or documentary.

What could I win?

Prize money is awarded in each category with up to $80,000 for winners and $5,000 for shortlisted books and is tax-free.

How do I enter?

Authors and publishers can view the guidelines and submit eligible titles through our website under the ‘How to Enter’ tab.

Entries close 15 March 2019 at 5pm (AEST).

If you require assistance you can email our Prime Minister’s Literary Awards team or phone 1800 707 889.

Find out more: